Mississippi Shoplifting Defense

Is shoplifting in Mississippi a misdemeanor or a felony?

First of all, shoplifting is a serious charge in the State of Mississippi. Depending on the value of the goods allegedly shoplifted, an individual may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony. As a result, shoplifting charges can impact your life in a big way.

What determines whether a shoplifting charge is a misdemeanor or a felony?

It almost always comes down to money. If the merchant’s stated value of the goods is more than $1,000, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. If the merchant’s stated value exceeds $1,000, you will charged with a felony.

First and second offenses are misdemeanors. A third offense will result in felony charges.

What are the maximum fines and jail time?

The penalty for a misdemeanor Mississippi shoplifting charge depends on the value and which offense it is. Below is a breakdown of fines and jail time:

  • Misdemeanor
    • 1st Offense – Fined not more than $1,000 and/or imprisoned in the county jail for up to 6 months. Probation for up to 1 year may replace jail time.
    • 2nd Offense – Fined not more than $1,000 and/or imprisoned in the county jail for up to 6 months. Probation for up to 1 year may replace jail time.
  • Felony
    • 3rd Offense – Fined not more than $1,000 and/or imprisoned for 3 years.
    • If the value is $1,000 – $4,999.99 – Fined not more than $10,000 and/or imprisoned for a term not exceeding 5 years.
    • If the value is $5,000 – $24,999.99 – Fined not more than $10,000 and/or imprisoned for a term not exceeding 10 years.
    • If the value is $25,000 or more – Fined not more than $10,000 and/or imprisoned for a term not exceeding 20 years.

Mississippi Shoplifting Defense Franks Law Firm

The Franks Law Firm, PLLC will certainly represent you on your Mississippi shoplifting charges throughout Mississippi.

Above all, it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer to represent you for any shoplifting charges in Mississippi. If you were charged with shoplifting, give The Franks Law Firm, PLLC a call to discuss the legal defenses available to you. We only charge a $19.99 consultation fee to discuss the facts of your case and what your options are to resolve any shoplifting charges.

Check out the statute (97-23-93) here then select the MS CODE SITE.

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.