Mississippi Misdemeanor Expungement
How can a misdemeanor criminal record impact your life?
A misdemeanor charge in Mississippi may not seem like a big deal at first. Once you start applying for jobs or schools though, it could become a very big deal. More and more employers and educational institutions run background checks on potential employees and students. That is why an expungement may benefit you.
How can The Franks Law Firm, PLLC help?
If you were charged with a misdemeanor, other than a traffic ticket, The Franks Law Firm, PLLC may be able to obtain an expungement. An expungement essentially “erase” your criminal record. The department which arrested you will still maintain a file, but employers and schools will not be able to obtain records regarding your arrest.
What misdemeanors can be expunged in Mississippi?
Mississippi Code Section 99-19-71 states that any first offense misdemeanor, except for traffic tickets, may be expunged. That includes DUI convictions in most cases discussed below.
How long do I have to wait to have a misdemeanor expunged?
Depending on the charge, usually 1-5 years after completion of the court ordered sentence.
How many misdemeanors can I have expunged?
Generally, you can only have one misdemeanor expunged.
Can a DUI First Offense be expunged?
Yes, a DUI First Offense can be expunged. You must wait 5 years after completing your sentence and met the following requirements:
- Did not refuse a blood, breath, or urine test;
- Your blood alcohol concentration was below .16%, if tested;
- You were not the holder of a commercial driver’s license or a commercial learner’s permit;
- You completed all terms and conditions of the sentence imposed for the conviction;
- You have not been convicted of nor have any other driving under the influence charges pending; and
- You can show the court why the conviction should be expunged.
Can a Minor in Possession charge be expunged?
Yes. A minor in possession charge can be expunged under Mississippi Code Section 67-3-70.
When do I have a right to have a misdemeanor charge expunged?
If you were arrested, but the charges were dropped or the case was dismissed, then you have a right to have your record expunged.
Who cannot have a misdemeanor expunged in Mississippi?
Any public official who was convicted for a crime related to his official duties cannot expunge that charge.
How much does an expungement cost?
The filing fee for an expungement is $150 plus attorney’s fees.
If you were charge or convicted of a felony in your past, contact The Franks Law Firm, PLLC below to discuss your options for only a $20.00 consultation fee. An expungement may be the option that puts you back on track and stops your past from holding you down.