Mississippi DUI Penalties
What Are The Penalties For A DUI Conviction In Mississippi?
For a first-offense DUI in Mississippi with a regular driver’s license, there is a penalty of 48 hours in jail, a fine between $250 and $1,000, and a 120-day suspension of the driver’s license. The statutes pretty clearly disallow reductions of jail time, but at The Franks Law Firm, we do our best to minimize jail time or have it avoided altogether. A second-offense DUI carries with it a fine of up to $1,500, a minimum of five days in jail, and a maximum of six months in jail. The license suspension will be for 1 year.
A third DUI carries with it a fine of anywhere from $2,000 to $5,000, a minimum of one year in jail, and a maximum of five years in jail. A third offense DUI will result in denial/suspension of one’s driving privileges for up to 2 years. A fourth or subsequent DUI carries with it higher fines and a two to five-year jail sentence. Third-time DUIs (and subsequent DUIs) are felony charges that are accompanied by very severe consequences in Mississippi. Some of these include loss of gun rights, loss of voting rights & the ability to hold a professional license.
What Can I Expect To Happen In The First 24 Hours After I’ve Been Arrested And Charged With A DUI?
In the first 24 hours after being arrested for DUI, an individual will be taken to the local arresting agency and most likely booked. In some counties, an individual will be taken directly to a detention facility where they are booked and held. They will take pretty much everything the person has on them and quite often will issue standard jail clothes while they wait to get a bond.
On occasion, someone will be released on their own recognizance (ROR), but in most cases, a judge will set a bond. If a bond is set and cannot be covered by the individual or their family and friends, then the individual will have to contact a bondsman (or have someone he/she knows contact the bondsman for them) in order to post bond and be released from jail. Once released from jail, he/she will be given several pieces of paper, one of which will list the date of their initial court appearance. If someone is really unfortunate and arrested right before a holiday, then that person may spend a little bit more time waiting on the bond.
What Paperwork Do I Have When I Bond Out Of Jail In A DUI Case?
When someone bonds out of jail after receiving a DUI, they will likely leave with a couple of different pieces of paper. The first piece of paper will list the bondsman’s information, the amount of the bond, and the court date. An individual will also leave with a copy of their citation or ticket, which should list the date and location of the initial court date. In Mississippi, an individual may also receive a piece of paper that will serve as a 30-day temporary driver’s license and will list all of the details of the DUI stop, including the blood alcohol level and the arresting officer’s name and signature. The individual needs to keep this temporary license somewhere safe in their vehicle, such as the glove box.
Impaired Driving, the Facts Should Be Sobering | Mississippi DUI Defense Attorney
Check your watches. Sometime within the next 50 minutes, an American will die in an accident involving an alcohol-impaired driver. Could it be you? Possibly. Could it be someone you love? Possibly. Every time we get into a car to drive to the grocery store, our office, a concert, a basketball or baseball game, a soccer match, your daughter’s piano recital, wherever—someone else could be getting into a car after having had too much to drink. It’s a sad and scary reality that we all have learned to simply live with.
According to data from the CDC (the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), 29 people in the United States die in motor vehicle crashes involving an alcohol-impaired driver—every day. Think about that for a minute. Twenty-nine people heading off to work or to spend the day with their son or daughter, to meet friends, to run an errand, etc.—never come home, their lives cut short by an impaired driver.
Drunk driving, impaired driving, driving under the influence, whatever we call it, the results are often the same—people drink and drive and then some people die because of it.
It Can Happen to Anyone | Mississippi DUI Defense Attorney
Americans like to celebrate good times. Sometimes we drink socially, out with friends, catching up on life. Some choose to get a drink when they’ve had a bad day or have recently gone through a rough time or break up, etc.
You got a promotion at work, congratulations! Your husband got the news through a mutual friend and decides to surprise you with dinner reservations at that 5-star restaurant you’ve been trying to get into for a year! It’s a great night. One bottle of wine with dinner turns into two, after all, it’s a time to celebrate your hard work. Before you know it, it’s closing time and you’re the last table to leave. You know you’ve had too much to drink but you rationalize it thinking, “Oh but it’s just about a mile or two to home… I’ll drive slow; it’ll be fine.” Worst case scenario—you, your husband, or a passing motorist, bicyclist, or pedestrian dies from an alcohol-related accident that could have been easily avoided had you called a cab or ordered a rideshare pickup from the restaurant.
But maybe you’ll be lucky this time and make it through without tragedy striking due to your impaired driving. The thing about luck, however, is that it tends to not stay around forever, so even though you’re lucky this time, next time could prove fatal. This is a pretty dark scenario, but it’s not a Hollywood movie, it’s a real-time, real stakes reality that happens day and night all across America every few minutes, as impaired driving causes death and injury around the clock.
But even if you avoid an accident, you may not avoid incarceration. FACT: Mississippi lawmakers have worked tirelessly over the last five years to strengthen DUI laws, and they have succeeded in putting new, stiffer laws on the books. What someone might have skirted out of easily ten or fifteen years ago is no longer a walk in the park. Lawmakers have dropped the hammer on drunk drivers in an effort to lower fatalities and protect us from what is commonly seen as one of the greatest threats to public safety—impaired driving.
Mississippi DUI penalties are severe, and the courts do not smile upon you if the evidence says you are guilty. Now the best way to avoid being guilty is to never drink and drive, not even a little. There is always a cab to call, a friend to call, a bus, train, or rideshare option, so we should all use good judgment and never drink then get behind the wheel of an automobile. But humans are flawed. Everyone makes mistakes, and many times people make errors in judgment. And when the police are involved, those mistakes can be costly and can change lives forever, even if there are no injuries. Financial injuries can and will happen if you are convicted of driving drunk or driving impaired.
The list of possible problems resulting from a DUI conviction is a long one, but some of the greatest hits would include: the loss of custody of your children, losing your job or career, marital problems, being dropped by your insurance, court fees, and other fees, debt, bankruptcy, loss of driving privileges, and of course—the social stigma of having all your friends and family members know that you’re a convicted drunk driver. Don’t let this happen to you.
At The Franks Law Firm, PLLC, we understand that good people can sometimes make bad judgments, and it’s our job to keep those bad judgments from being judged harshly by…a judge, in a court of law in which your entire life is on the line. Call us today for a consultation and let us help. We have the experience and track record in DUI defense that can make the difference. We win cases. Let us build your case and work to keep your life on track. When it’s all on the line, you need a Mississippi DUI defense attorney you can count on; call us today.
For more information on Penalties For A DUI Conviction In Mississippi, a free consultation is your next best step. The quicker The Franks Law Firm, PLLC gets involved, the better the result. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (601) 283-2343 today.