Blog

How does a DUI Affect Me?

How Does Having a DUI Affect Me? Joey:      The main way I see it affect people’s lives is with education and careers. Sometimes people want to get into advanced educational programs; nursing programs, physical therapy programs, pretty much anything medical or legal related. That can be a hurdle they have to overcome. A good example [..]

Read More

What if I have more than one DUI Offense?

What if I have more than one DUI offense? Joey: They will stack up against you and the penalties become more and more severe with each offense. You have your standard DUI first offense, which carries a minimum 48 hours in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. For the DUI second offense, the fine [..]

Read More

When’s the Best Time to Hire a DUI Lawyer?

When’s the Best Time to Hire a DUI Lawyer? Joey:      As soon as you walk out of the jailhouse. That is the absolute best time to go ahead and select a DUI lawyer. Get online. Do some research. Find out who you think will be the best fit for you and who has experience in [..]

Read More

DUI – What Offenses Can Be Filed?

With a DUI – What Offenses Can Be Filed? Joey, let’s say I’m pulled over for a DUI, what offenses can I be charged with? Joey:      There are five DUI in Mississippi charges. You have the DUI refusal, which means you refused to take the test. You have a DUI first offense, which means this [..]

Read More

Mississippi Field Sobriety Test

If Asked to Take a Field Sobriety Test, What Do I Do? Joey: You have a couple of options. You’re not required to do a field sobriety test and that isn’t the test they are looking at for a refusal charge. If you refuse the big Intoxilyzer machine at the police station, they can do [..]

Read More

Legal Limits for a DUI

What are the Legal Limits for a DUI in Mississippi? Joey: That’s actually a complex question, because for your average person, just going to and from work with a normal driver’s license in Mississippi, the blood alcohol content’s what we’re looking at here, the BAC. In Mississippi for your normal person, it’d be a .08. [..]

Read More

What Happens if I Refuse a DUI Breath Test in Mississippi?

What Happens if I Refuse a DUI Breath Test in Mississippi? Joey: If you refuse a breath test in Mississippi, it sets off a chain of events that will usually ultimately lead to suspension of a driver’s license for 90 days, automatically, right out the gate. Normally the Department of Public Safety will send a letter [..]

Read More

Penalties for a DUI First Offense in Mississippi

What are the penalties for a DUI first offense in Mississippi? Joey: That’s actually a bit of a trick question because it depends on certain factors. For your average Joe that’s driving to work every day and has a standard driver’s license in Mississippi, then they’re looking at suspension of their license for up to [..]

Read More

DUI Expungement in Mississippi

One of the most common questions my firm answers is whether or not a DUI can be expunged in Mississippi. The answer is yes, Mississippi law allows for the expungement of a DUI. A DUI Expungement in Mississippi is a process and cannot occur until five (5) years after you complete all the requirements of [..]

Read More